Immersive Software Engineering – PGD L7

OTHM Level 7 Diploma in Immersive Software Engineering


The principal objective of the OTHM Level 7 Diploma in Immersive Software Engineering is to develop the knowledge skills, critical understanding necessary to design, develop, and evaluate immersive software engineering systems, which can be used to support research and innovation.

The qualification aims to equip learners with advanced-level knowledge and skills in immersive software engineering that can be applied to various domains such as Web & Cloud technologies, Security, Automation, Data analytics and Project methodologies. It also aims to develop learners’ critical thinking and research skills to identify and address complex problems in the software engineering field.

OTHM has developed a suite of Level 7 Diploma qualifications. The qualifications provide learners with industry-specific and practical skills, enabling them to successfully apply their knowledge in the workplace, enhance their career prospects and allow progression to further study.

  • Entry requirements

    OTHM Level 7 qualifications: Learners aged 21 or above

    The entry profile for learners is likely to include at least one of the following:

    An honours degree in a related subject or a UK level 6 diploma or an equivalent overseas qualification
    Mature learners with management experience (learners must check with the delivery centre regarding this experience prior to registering for the programme)

    English requirements:  Visit English Entry Requirements  page

  • Equivalences

    The OTHM Level 7 diplomas on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) are at the same level as master's degrees. However, they are shorter (120 credits), and learners will have to proceed to the dissertation stage (60 credits) with a university to achieve a full master's programme.

  • Qualification structure

    The OTHM Level 7 Diploma in Immersive Software Engineering qualification consists of 5 mandatory units for a combined total of 120 credits, 1200 hours of Total Qualification Time (TQT) and 480 Guided Learning Hours (GLH) for the completed qualification.

  • Mandatory units

    Security Engineering (20 credits)
    Software programming principles and practices in Java I (20 credits)
    Agile Project Management (20 credits)
    Cloud Computing & DevOps (20 credits)
    Database & SQL Programming (20 credits)
    Web Designing (20 credits)
  • Duration and delivery

    The qualification is designed to be delivered over one academic year for full-time study, but it is also flexible in its delivery in order to accommodate part-time and distance learning.

  • Assessment and verification

    All units within this qualification are internally assessed by the centre and externally verified by OTHM. The qualifications are criterion referenced, based on the achievement of all the specified learning outcomes.

    To achieve a 'pass' for a unit, learners must provide evidence to demonstrate that they have fulfilled all the learning outcomes and meet the standards specified by all assessment criteria. Judgement that the learners have successfully fulfilled the assessment criteria is made by the Assessor.

    The Assessor should provide an audit trail showing how the judgement of the learners' overall achievement has been arrived at.

  • Progression

    Successful completion of the OTHM Level 7 Diploma in Immersive Software Engineering qualification enables learners to progress into or within employment and/or continue their study towards a relevant master top-up programme with advanced standing at many universities in the UK and overseas.